Society Awards

Given to members of the society, by the society! 

Bill Lawson Award

for outstanding contribution 

Bill Lawson was a founder member of South Manchester AOS in 1955 and served the society diligently until his untimely death in 2002.

Over the years Bill took on all roles with vigour to help make South Manchester AOS what it is today; actor, director, chorus member, stage crew, front-of-house, dresser...and finally a much-loved and highly respected Chairman.

This award has been set up in honour of his memory and is presented each year to a member who goes 'that extra mile'.

2012: Sue Ellis
2011: Chris Drayton
2010: Phil Moulson
2009: Jason Steel 
2008: Nadine Arditti
2007: Yvonne Kendrick
2006: Kath Buckley
2005: Caroline Marriott
2004: Louise Morgan
2003: Tracey Collinson



Sydney Richards Salver

Since 1990 the Sydney Richards Salver has been presented annually to members in recognition of loyal service to South Manchester AOS.

2013: Peter Bowers
2012: Lesley Bowers
2011: Sheila Fildes
2010: Rita Sykes
2009: Elizabeth Cheetham
2008: Jean M Wilson
2007: Trixie & Colin Appley
2006: Shiela Firth Marshall
2005: Moira Nixon
2004: M. Wendy Lees
2003: Edna & Bill Lawson
2002: Norma & Brian Adshead
2001: Gwen Owen
2000: Fred Hall
1999: Alma Addy
1998: Rosamond & Roy Chambers
1997: Shiela Rothwell
1996: Robert Hart
1995: Marjorie Houser
1994: Phil Moulson
1993: Margaret Cooper
1992: Glenys & Philip Martin
1991: Rod & Dolly Ashman
1990: Agnes Cox

The Adshead Award 

Brian and Norma Adshead were both long standing members and life members of South Manchester AOS who devoted much of their lives to the society.

To honour their contribution to our society this award is given for Best Newcomer.

2011: David Barker
2010: Helen Attisha
2009: Gareth Brewerton